STATE OF UTAH
CONSUMER CREDIT NOTIFICATION (CCN) Department of Financial Institutions

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 324 South State Street, Suite 201, SLC, UT 84111
www.dfi.utah.qov  Fax: (801) 538-8894 Tel: (801) 538-8830

Which law requires someone to file a CCN and pay fees?

The Utah Consumer Credit Code (Title 70C of the Utah Code Annotated) requires a notification and fees in
§70C-8.

Am I required to file a CCN?

In general, if you lend to Utah consumers primarily for personal, family or household purposes, you are
required to file a CCN and pay related fees. A CCN could be required for many activities. Typically, the
following activities conducted with Utah citizens are subject to the Utah Consumer Credit Code.
Lending for personal, family or household purposes

Selling or providing goods or services on a credit basis

Making consumer leases or taking assignments of consumer debt

Originating or servicing open-end mortgages or second mortgages

Lending for manufactured housing or mobile homes that are not permanently affixed

Collecting debt arising from consumer credit transactions

However, Title 70C has certain exceptions and specific definitions that could mean you may not be required to
file a CCN. It is up to each entity to determine if it is subject to the Utah Consumer Credit Code and to comply
accordingly. We strongly encourage you to read Title 70C to determine if it applies to your operations. Many
have found the following sections helpful to make that determination.

e §70C-8-201 Applicability

e §70C-1-201 Covered Transactions

o §70C-1-202 Exempted Transactions

o §70C-1-302 Definitions, especially the definition of “Creditor”

When should a CCN be filed?

The CCN should be filed at least 30 days before you start consumer credit activities in Utah. Thereafter, you
must renew your CCN on the NMLS between November 1%t and December 315t each year. The same
information is collected for new notifications and annual renewals.

Does the CCN authorize someone to conduct business in states other than Utah?

No. The CCN applies only to credit activities conducted with Utah citizens. You should check with every state
where you will operate to identify any laws or requirements that may apply to your business.

Do I need to file a CCN to lend for business or commercial purposes?

You do not need to file a CCN if you are extending credit “primarily for business, commercial, or agricultural

purposes.” Such transactions are exempt from Title 70C as per §70C-1-202(2)(a)(i). If you offer business or
commercial purpose loans, please review the Commercial Financing page of our website.
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Are collection agencies required to file a CCN?

A CCN is required if the collection agency is “a party who has an office or place of business in Utah and takes
an assignment of or undertakes direct collection of a payment from or enforcement of a right against a debtor
arising from a consumer credit transaction” as per §70C-8-201(1)(b). If a CCN is required, it is in addition to
requirements from the Utah Department of Commerce Division of Corporations and Commercial Code.

The Utah Department of Financial Institutions does not license or require bonds from collection agencies. If
you have questions about collection agency licenses or bond requirements, please contact the Utah
Department of Commerce Division of Corporations and Commercial Code.

How do I submit the CCN through the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS)?

To file a CCN, go to the NMLS Checklist Compiler and scroll down to the section titled “Checklist Compiler.”
Under that title, click “New Application,” then scroll down in the License column (on the left) and click the drop-
down arrow next to UTDFI. Select “Consumer Credit Notification” to view the checklist with submission
instructions.

CCN submission through the NMLS is required by § 70C-8-202(1)(c)(viii).

Where can | get help with the NMILS?

The NMLS Call Center provides user support for navigating the NMLS and performing essential functions
within the System. You can call the Call Center at 855-665-7123, Monday through Friday 9 am to 9 pm Eastern
Time, except for specified holidays.

You may also visit the NMLS Resource Center for NMLS-related tools, tips, news, and updates.

What is an NMLS license item?

License items are the primary method regulators use to communicate with applicants and licensees on the
NMLS. They are concise messages sent in relation to a specific license instance and are used to inform
recipients of missing requirements or deficiencies within their NMLS record.

Each time a license item is placed on your license or application, you will receive a system-generated email
notification from the NMLS.

What is an NMLS license status?

The license status tells you about the condition of your application or CCN. When you submit your CCN
application, the system typically sets the status to “Pending — Incomplete.” When we accept your application as
complete, we will change the status to “Approved.” We will change the status over the life of the CCN as its
condition changes. See License Status Definitions for the full list of currently available statuses.
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What is a Certificate of Existence (COE)? What is a Certificate of Registration (COR)?

COEs and CORs are issued by the Utah Department of Commerce Division of Corporations (“the Division”) to
confirm a business is authorized to transact business in Utah. Their purposes are different from CCNs, which
authorize businesses to conduct activities subject to the Utah Consumer Credit Code.

COEs are CORs are different from each other in one significant way: COEs show authorization for an entity,
while CORs show authorization for an entity’s assumed name, also known as a “doing business as” (DBA)
name. The current COR looks like the COE, except it is titled “Certificate of Registration,” and it specifies
information about the assumed name and DBA.

We will only accept COEs or CORs dated (purchased) within 90 days of a CCN submission, and discontinued
CORs will not be accepted. If you submit a COR for every DBA, you are not required to submit a COE for the
company’s legal name.

Utah code requires CCN filers to submit evidence they are “authorized to conduct business in this
state...pursuant to filings with the Division of Corporations and Commercial Code....” Historically, we did not
accept CORs because the Division issued CORs in different versions for various purposes. In late October
2024, we learned the Division discontinued previous COR versions, and the current COR became the
document that “certifies that the assumed name . . . is authorized to transact business” in Utah. As a result, we
now require CORs for every DBA name under which consumer credit activities are conducted.

How do I purchase a COE or a COR?

To buy your COE or COR, go to the website for the Utah Department of Commerce Division of Corporations
(“the Division”). Click the icon to “Purchase a Certificate of Existence” to be taken to the “Online Registration
Instructions” page.

¢ If you conduct consumer credit activities under the company’s legal name, then you must provide a
COE to us. Scroll down slightly on the webpage to the section that states “ . . . to purchase a Certificate
of Existence” and follow the instructions.

OR

e If you conduct consumer credit activities under an assumed or DBA name, then you must provide a
COR to us. Scroll to the bottom of the webpage to the section that states: “To file any other filing type .
..” and follow the instructions. (Hint: Click “Doing Business As (DBA)” from the List of Entities.) If you
conduct consumer credit activities under more than DBA, you must give us a COR for every DBA. If
you provide a COR for every DBA, please do not submit a COE for the legal entity name.

As of November 2024, the Division is upgrading its business registration platform, which means the
instructions described in this document could change without notice. If you follow these instructions and cannot
obtain your certificate, please email a description of the issue(s) you are experiencing to msb.dfi@utah.gov.
Our licensing staff will reply to you to suggest next steps.
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Are there other documents | can submit instead of a COE or a COR?

We typically do not accept a business license, screenshot, receipt, printed entity detail, or any other document
instead of a COE or COR. However, we may make limited exceptions in Q4 2024 and Q1 2025 due to the
Division’s registration platform upgrade. If you follow the instructions shown in the previous section and cannot
obtain your certificate, please email a description of the issue(s) you are experiencing to msb.dfi@utah.gov.
Our licensing staff will reply to you to suggest next steps.

Can | conduct consumer credit activities under an assumed “Doing Business As” (DBA) name?

Yes, and you must take the following actions in the NMLS to add each DBA to the CCN.
e List your DBA(s) in the Other Trade Names section of the NMLS’ Company Form (MU1).
e Upload each DBA’s Certificate of Registration (COR) to the NMLS.
o Name the document: UT-COR Your DBA
o Upload under the Document Type Certificate of Authority/Good Standing Certificate in the
Document Uploads section of the Company Form (MU1).

You must submit a COR for every DBA. The COR must be dated (purchased) within 90 days of your CCN
submission and show an assumed name that is an exact match to the DBA name in the NMLS. If these
instructions are not followed, we will place a license item on your application with instructions and a deadline. If
you do not comply with the license item instructions by the deadline, we will change your CCN status to
“Withdrawn — Abandoned.” If you submit a COR for every DBA, you are not required to submit a COE for the
company’s legal name.

How can I pay the notification fee?

The NMLS accepts Visa, MasterCard, and ACH payments. Please view the NMLS Payment Options document
for details.

The Utah DFI stopped accepting CCN-related payments on August 16, 2024. Any CCN payments received
after that date will be returned.

After I file a CCN, will | receive a license?

No. Instead, we will acknowledge receipt of a complete CCN by changing your NMLS application’s status to
“Approved.” You are not required to post or display our acceptance of your CCN. Anyone who wishes to view
the status of your CCN may do so by visiting nmlsconsumeraccess.org.

The CCN is a notification, not a license or registration. The purpose of the CCN is to notify us that you will be
conducting consumer credit transactions with Utah consumers. We do not issue license numbers for CCNs.
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Will I receive an Acknowledgment of Consumer Credit Notification (aka Acknowledgment)?

We stopped issuing Acknowledgments when the CCN moved to the NMLS in August of 2024. We now
acknowledge receipt of a complete CCN by changing your NMLS application’s status to “Approved.” Anyone
wishing to confirm a company’s status can do so by visiting nmlsconsumeraccess.org.

How do I complete the annual CCN renewal?

We collect the same information for a CCN initial submissions and annual renewals. Every CCN submission
that occurs in the NMLS between August 26, 2024 and December 31, 2024 will satisfy the statutory
requirement to renew for 2025. In 2025 and following years, the renewal period begins November 1%t and ends
December 31st. The NMLS will email reminders and instructions for each year’s renewal.

What happens if | miss the December 315 renewal deadline?

Utah law requires CCNs to be filed by December 315t each year. We stop accepting CCN submissions at 3:00
pm Mountain Time on December 31%. If you miss that deadline, your company will no longer be authorized to
conduct consumer credit activities in Utah. You may not reinstate a CCN after the deadline.

However, if your CCN has expired, you may apply for a new one at any time. Please file the CCN as soon as

possible to avoid conducting unauthorized activities.

What should | do if information on my CCN changed after I filed it?

To change a CCN, go to the NMLS Checklist Compiler and scroll down to the section titled “Checklist

Compiler.” Under that title, click “Amendment,” then scroll down the License column and click the drop-down
arrow next to UTDFI. Select “Consumer Credit Notification” to view the checklist with submission instructions.

While you are not required to inform this Department about changes until your next renewal, we would
appreciate an Amendment if the company’s legal name or DBA change. Name changes require you to submit
a COE for the new company name or a COR for the new DBA name.

How do | surrender a CCN?

To surrender a CCN, click “Surrender” on the NMLS Checklist Compiler, then scroll down the License column
and click the drop-down arrow next to UTDFI. Select “Consumer Credit Notification” to view the checklist with
submission instructions.

Please update your business activities in the NMLS before you submit a surrender. If your business activity list
shows activities that appear to be subject to the Utah Consumer Credit Notification, we will ask you for an
explanation and evaluate it before we accept the surrender.
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Where can I find out if someone has filed a CCN?

Individuals who want to verify that an entity has submitted a CCN may do so online.
o For CCN holders as of August 25, 2024, visit our website.
e To search for CCNs accepted on or after August 26, 2024, visit nmlsconsumeraccess.org.

If you cannot find specific entities on either website, it could mean that they have not filed CCNs, that the
CCNs are in process, or that CCNs are not required.
My question was not answered in the FAQs. Who can I contact for assistance?

You can reach us at msb.dfi@utah.gov or (801) 538-8830. If you call us, tell the receptionist you have
questions about the Consumer Credit Notification.
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