State Credit Union Agency CSBS Accredited

We’re Responsible For

Chartering, regulating, supervising and examining state-chartered financial institutions. The Department also has jurisdiction over mortgage servicers, consumer lending, and money services businesses.

Financial Institutions

The Department of Financial Institutions (DFI) regulates 21 banks, 30 credit unions, 15 industrial banks and two trust companies.

There are also 8 national banks, 5 out-of-state state banks, 31 federal credit unions, and 1 federal savings association, operating within the state.

Read More

Mortgage Lending

The mortgage lenders, brokers, and servicers list no longer includes most mortgage brokers and lenders doing business in Utah.

The Utah Division of Real Estate is now the primary regulator of residential first mortgage lenders and brokers.

Learn More

Consumer Lending

There are approximately 1,188 consumer lenders who have notified the department they are conducting business in Utah.

Download the consumer credit notification form here. You can also browse a list of consumer lenders, downloadable in multiple format.

Browse the List

Have a Complaint?

If you have a complaint on an institution under our jurisdiction, you may file that complaint by completing the Complaint Form.

Discover How

Are My Deposits Safe?

Recent media attention has prompted questions from depositors at bank and credit unions as to the safety of their deposits.

Find Out