Financial Institutions

Department of Financial Institutions (DFI) regulates 19 banks, 25 credit unions, 16 industrial banks and 1 trust company.

There are also 13 national banks, 7 out-of-state, state banks, 32 federal credit unions, and 2 federal savings associations, operating within the state.

Browse the list of current Financial Institutions

As of June 30, 2022 Utah depository institutions had combined total assets of 877.1 billion dollars.  Of that total, 537.0 billion were in banks, 48.3 billion were in credit unions, 204.8 billion were in industrial banks and 87.0 billion were in savings associations.

To access the Utah code relating to financial institutions follow the link below to the Utah State Legislature’s web site.

To access Utah Administrative Code relating to financial institutions follow the link below to the Utah Administrative Rules OnLine web site.

To lean more about the use of certain restricted words in a business name follow the link below.


We also have available addresses of financial institutions in Microsoft Excel format for download as of  September 30, 2022.  This data will be updated quarterly.